We know Toby Price is hardcore but winning the 480km long Finke Desert Race with an elephant sized swollen ankle proves he’s as tough as they come.

Favourite to defend his Finke crown – the most important desert race in Australia – Price was dealt a serious blow in the lead up to the race when a stick pierced right through his boot and busted his ankle.

Not even sure if he’d start the first 240km run from Alice Springs to Finke, Price still managed to hold it wide open and take a near five-minute lead over his closest rivals at the end of day one.

Pulling out another minute and a half on them on day two, the KTM rider secured his fourth Finke win by six minutes and 35 seconds.

“It definitely wasn’t an easy one on this trip, that’s for sure, but to get that monkey off my back and win back to back is an amazing feeling, and to get win number four is better again,” told Price.

“It was a hard slog and I can’t thank the crew here enough, it’s been an awesome effort by everybody. My theory was that if I could get a good run down and pull some gaps, hopefully my way home would be a little bit easier for me, so yesterday I just bit my lip and hung on and went for it.

“I don’t know whether my foot is cracked or whether there is some ligament damage, but I just know it’s very painful, it’s hard to stand on it, and I had some very messy moments down through the track.

I didn’t get on the track at all during the week, I tried to ride a little bit on Thursday but was in a ton of pain so I knew it was gonna’ be tough, but when that green light comes on, the adrenaline kicks in and we want to win Finke. A lot of guys have put too much time and effort in for me just to pull out, and now at the end of the day I’m sitting on top and I’m pretty damn stoked that I kept pushing and went through all that.”

He definitely deserves to put his feet up for a bit after that heroic effort!

2015 Tatts Finke Desert Race outright places:

1. Toby Price 03:52:54

2. Tye Simmonds 03:59:29

3. Joshua Green 04:04:18

4. Jacob Smith 04:07:15

5. Jack Dooley-McDonnell 04:13:08

6. Ivan Long 04:19:14

7. Beau Ralston 04:19:39

8. Lachlan Summers 04:23:56

9. Sam Davie 04:25:18

10. Ryan Cossens 04:30:47