Husqvarna’s Jamie McCanney the man to beat at the opening rounds of the British Enduro Championship during Easter weekend in Scotland

With all eyes on the most northerly coast of Scotland, the deep, sandy, punishing terrain of Eglin and the surrounding Lossiemouth forestry was the setting for the opening rounds of the ACU Edmondson Racing British Enduro Championship during Easter weekend.

Eager to get the 2015 BEC series underway, a strong contingent of riders made the long trek north to compete, with defending champion Tom Sagar, Jamie McCanney, David Knight, Steve Holcombe and Daniel McCanney all in the mix.

Getting his championship campaign off to a perfect start Jamie McCanney claimed the overall win both days. Winning four out of five tests on day one and then topping the standings on day two, Jamie firmly stamped his authority and showed that he has recovered well from his 2014 season ending injury.

“I’m very happy to be leaving with a double win,” told Jamie. “Leading up to Lossiemouth I knew I’d worked hard and my fitness was good, but I wasn’t expecting to win both days.

“In the sand one small mistake could lose you a lot of momentum and time. I managed to stay trouble free and keep my times consistent. This is a great start to my season.”

With Jamie McCanney winning both days, Beta’s Steve Holcombe and Tom Sagar (KTM) battled hard with Daniel McCanney for the runner-up result.

At round one it was Daniel who grabbed the runner-up result to ensure a McCanney 1-2 but the following day Holcombe improved his pace in the roughening conditions to grab second.

Starting the 2015 series as the defending champion, Sagar was eager to impress. Feeling fast and comfortable in the extremely rough conditions, he began round one by setting the second fastest time on the opening special test.

But one costly crash on the final test of the day saw him miss out on a top three result by two seconds for fourth overall.

Hitting the ground running by posting the fastest time on the opening test of day two, Sagar was locked in a three-way battle for the overall win. But another crash on the final test left him settling for third outright.

Despite following Jamie home for second at round one, Daniel McCanney wasn’t able to repeat that result on day two and was pushed back to fourth.

“I’m a little disappointed with my result this weekend,” admitted Daniel. “I won one of the tests on day one and finished second overall. My result on day two was way off where I want to be. But I know my speed is there, I just made a few too many little mistakes.”

Determined to get his 2015 season off to a strong start, rising youngster Brad Freeman did exactly that. Pushing hard to match the pace of the leaders, the KTM rider secured fifth overall both days.

Unfortunately the opening round of the BEC was one of disappointment for Knight. Despite challenging the frontrunners, the KTM rider was unable to finish both days.

In the Expert class KTM mounted Jake Gowan won both rounds.

In the clubman class, Jordan Ridgeway (Husqvarna) had a fantastic ride on his little TE 125 winning day one by 44 seconds and finishing runner up on day two.

Derek Little topped the podium both days in the Over 40/Vets while Gavin Johnston did likewise in the Over 50/Vets category.

Husqvarna’s Rhian George had a brilliant weekend and brought home two clear wins in the Women’s Class.

Jane Daniels has moved up from the Women’s class for 2015. She finished 18th on day one and a very respectable 13th on day two against some stiff competition.

The ACU Edmondson Racing British Enduro Championship continues with rounds three and four in Helmsley, Yorkshire on May 2/3.

Results – British Enduro Championship, Eglin, Scotland

Round 1

1. Jamie McCanney (Husqvarna) 1225; 2. Daniel McCanney (Husqvarna) 1246; 3. Steve Holcombe (Beta) 1258; 4. Tom Sagar (KTM) 1260; 5. Brad Freeman (KTM) 1318; 6. Frazer Norrie (KTM) 1349; 7. Daryl Bolter (KTM) 1365; 8. Jack Edmondson (KTM) 1373; 9. Jack Rowland (Sherco) 1398; 10. James Dent (KTM) 1467…

Round 2

1. Jamie McCanney (Husqvarna) 919; 2. Steve Holcombe (Beta) 924; 3. Tom Sagar (KTM) 932; 4. Daniel McCanney (Husqvarna) 943; 5. Brad Freeman (KTM) 977; 6. Jack Rowland (Sherco) 999; 7. Frazer Norrie (KTM) 1005; 8. Daryl Bolter (KTM) 1011; 9. Jack Edmondson (KTM) 1024; 10. Fraser Flockhart (KTM) 1064…