KTM’s Matthias Walkner secured his maiden rally win when he took the top step of the podium at the Sardegna Rally Race.

Marking the fourth round of the FIM World Cross Countries Rally Championship, Walkner recorded a two-minute and 33 second margin of victory.

“I was very motivated after winning the Super Special on the first day, but I crashed twice the next day,” told Walkner. “From a riding perspective the Sardegna Rally can’t be compared with desert riding. It has more the characteristic of an Enduro race.”

“After I got more used to this situation, I was able to win the penultimate stage. I had not reckoned with the overall victory and for this reason I am even more pleased that it all worked out.”

Rally convert Armand Monleon ended his race as the runner-up with Helder Rodrigues making his first true official outing with Yamaha a memorable one finishing third.

Winning the final stage of the rally, Honda’s Paulo Goncalves was able to take fourth overall…

“I had a very nice race this week. I was able to win on the first third and final stage. Of course, the navigational error on the second day and the subsequent loss of time in the thunderstorm meant that I had to fight back to get into it. I realized that it had destroyed the result, but it was great to find out that the speed here has been really competitive, especially when I had to open the track in the races.”

Marc Coma, who continues to lead the points standings finished fifth.

Honda rider Jacopo Cerutti, being observed by Team HRC in this race, scored a notable sixth position overall and picked up the Dakar Challenge trophy, which grants him a place in the legendary event that gets underway in January next year.

The next round in the FIM World Championship is the Atacama Rally in Chile, August 30-September 9, 2015.

Sardegna Rally Race
Final Overall Results

1, Matthias Walkner, AUT, KTM, 16 hours 30 minutes, 26 seconds
2, Armand Monleon, ESP, KTM at 2.33
3, Helder Rodrigues, POR, Yamaha, at 5.05
4, Paulo Goncalves, POR, Honda at 9.10
5, Marc Coma, ESP, KTM, at 10.25
6, Jacopo Cerruti, ITA, Honda at 14.25
7, Jordi Viladoms, ESP, KTM, at 21.29
8, Ruben Faria, POR, KTM, at 23.24
9, David Casteu, FRA, KTM, at 23.57
10, L. Vecci, ITA, KTM, at 25.55