Cody Webb Wins EnduroCross Rnd1 - Enduro Tyres

Cody Webb Wins EnduroCross Rnd1

Cody Webb Wins EnduroCross Rnd1

Beta’s Cody Webb has won the opening round of the AMA EnduroCross Championship in Las Vegas.

Husqvarna’s Mike Brown took the $500 NEXEN Tire Holeshot award with a clean jump off a unique elevated starting line, beating the rest of the Pro Main Event competitors out of the tight first turn. It didn’t take long for Webb to move into the lead as the tight pack of front-runners moved around the first lap. JCR Honda’s Colton Haaker, KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak, Kyle Redmond and Gary Sutherlin were all in the mix right away – making for an exciting battle for the top spots in the initial laps.

By the end of the first lap it was Webb, Blazusiak and Redmond who held the top three. Unfortunately, right after the line, Redmond’s machine suffered a mechanical issue stopping him in his tracks. Husqvarna’s Mike Brown eventually pulled off the track due to a finger laceration and possible hand injury suffered earlier in the evening, ending his race evening as well.

It quickly looked to be an exciting showdown between the evening’s three heat-race winners – Webb, Blazusiak and Haaker. Webb fought to pull ahead and put down flawless laps to stay out front. Behind him carnage ensued, with Haaker passing Blazusiak on lap two after a rare mistake by the KTM rider. By the end of the lap, Blazusiak had moved back into third after Haaker made a similar bobble in a tricky rock turn.


Gary Sutherlin moved into fourth place and within striking distance of a podium spot. But halfway through the 12-lap main event, Blazusiak found trouble in the rock corner – already coming into lapped riders – allowing the hard-charging Haaker to get back into second. That didn’t last long as Blazusiak moved back into second and looked to stay there. Meanwhile, Webb moved steadily forward, lapping up to fourth place by lap nine.

In the final laps, Haaker remained in-the-hunt, gaining on Blazusiak when the defending champ stalled in a challenging rock corner after trying to get around lapped traffic, and going down.

Webb stayed the course, pushing forward and riding a nearly flawless race without a challenge for the lead from the second lap on. Geoff Aaron, Sutherlin, Taylor Robert and Bobby Prochnau battled for the top five positions. Haaker made a last-lap pass on Blazusiak for second as he was stuck in the final rock turn. Webb took the convincing win with Haaker in second and Blazusiak in third.


Main Event results:

1. Cody Webb Beta

2. Colton Haaker Honda

3. Taddy Blazusiak KTM

4. Bobby Prachnau KTM

5. Taylor Robert KTM

6. Geoff Aaron KTM

7. Gary Sutherlin KTM

8. Cory Graffunder KTM

9. Bryan Roper KTM

10. Jamie Lanza Husqvarna